Gone….but not forgotten….2010

2010…..what a year!!! As per usual, me and Ade have crammed so much into one year that i really don’t know where to start analysing the past year. There have been tears of both joy and sadness and so many good family moments that there are too many to mention in one Blog!!!

This year has been a bit of an eye-opener for me in more than one way and has made me realise just how lucky I am to be where I am today. My life could of so easily turned out to be completely different to the one that i am living today. To think that 2 and a half years ago I was still in the middle of a killing addiction with close friends worrying that I wouldn’t make another Christmas and then look at me today!!! A caring, loving partner, 2 beautiful children, a supportive family and some very good friends that support both myself and Ade in our daily lives. I am one very lucky girl!!! 🙂 Don’t get me wrong……my life with addiction is still a daily struggle but it does get easier to forget that I am an alcoholic in recovery and I will be until my dying day. I can now live a reasonably normal life without the daily worry that I will pick up that first drink. Before I used to make people close to me very aware of the fact that I am in recovery but to be honest with you, when i meet new people, that is the last thing on my mind to tell them nowadays. I want to tell them all about my wonderful family, how proud I am of my children, about the courses that i am doing and about how good my life actually is!! How times change!!!

Addiction still plays a HUGE part in my life, but rather than me being the one who needs the help and support, I am now able to offer that love and kindness out to the still suffering addict…..and this fills me with the greatest joy ever!! To know that people actually want to hear what I have got to say and that they regard my opinion as helpful is an amazing feeling. For so long I was a ‘nobody’ and to be able to say that I have turned my life around is the best feeling in the World. 🙂

I want to finish this post with a BIG ‘Thank you’ to everyone that has been there for me and my family over the past year (you know who you are!!!!). Without you all, my life wouldn’t be as much fun and filled with special moments that I will treasure forever. I hope the New Year will treat you all kindly and that all your dreams come true.

And finally to Ade……you are my World, my one true love, my best friend and everything in between….you make my life so special every day and I want to say a HUGE ‘Thank you’ for just being you!!! Don’t ever change babe….Love you soooooo much ❤

Leave a Reply

